Political Science
Mount Saint Mary's College
Home » Undergraduate Bachelor Programs » Political Science » BA Degree » Political Science Minor

Political Science

Political Science Minor

The Minor in Political Science adds a valuable dimension to many majors including business, sociology, history, or nursing.  For students interested in careers in the non-profit sector or government service, the political science minor offers opportunities to deepen an understanding of advocacy work and government institutions and processes.

To declare a minor in Political Science, a student must take at least 5 approved courses from Mount St. Mary's College.

Please contact the Chair of the History and Political Science Department, Dr.Helen Boutrous, for more information.

Students wishing to minor in Political Science are required to take the following:
POL 1 American Government and Institutions (3) or
POL 2 Comparative Government (3) or 
POL 10 Political Concepts (3)

As well as, a minimum of five Political Science courses:
At least 4 of the remaining 5 courses (or 12 units) must be at the upper division level.

Total units in Political Science: 18